Eleventh Annual Day of Leadership

The Court, the Client, the Compromise: Working Better Together Through Negotiation



8:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m Registration/Networking/Light Breakfast
8:30 a.m. – 9:40 a.m. Negotiating the Transition: Reflections From the New Bench

Presented by: Hon. Deborah McDonald (MS Court of Appeals); Chancellors Tiffany Grove (Hinds County) and Margaret Alfonso (Harrison County); Circuit Court Judges Faye Peterson (Hinds County) and Toni Terrett (Warren County) 

9:40 a.m. – 9:50 a.m Break
9:50 a.m. – 10:40 a.m Negotiating Troubled Waters: The First $1 Billion From BP Settlement

Presented by: Trudy Fisher, JD, Butler Snow, Ridgeland, MS

10:40 a.m. – 10:50 a.m Break
10:50 a.m. – 11:50 a.m. Negotiating the Deal: The Federal Settlement Conference

Presented by: Magistrates Linda Anderson (Southern District of Mississippi, Jackson), Charmaine Claxton (Western District of Tennessee, Memphis), and Hope Cannon (Northern District of Florida, Pensacola) (with ethics)


12:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m Awards Luncheon with Keynote Address

Then and Now: Women on the Court of Appeals
Presented by Judge Mary Libby Payne and Judge Virginia Carlton


Click here to download a copy of the Agenda.


Online registration is now available for the 10th Annual Day of Leadership.

Member Non-Member Government, Non-Lawyers & Full-Time Students
CLE Credit + Awards Luncheon $100 $150 $50
Awards Luncheon Only $40 $50 $50


*Awards Luncheon includes no CLE credit.

*Morning program includes 3 hours CLE credit (including 1 hour of Ethics).

*Lunch program includes .5 hour CLE credit.

*No shows or cancellations will receive seminar materials only – no refunds.

In order to receive the membership discount, your membership must be current as of May 12th. If you need to apply/renew your membership, you may do so online.

You may still print and mail in your registration. You can print the form here:

Download Registration Form (PDF)


2019 Award Recipients

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient:

La’Verne Edney

2019 Outstanding Woman Lawyer Award Recipient:

Jennie Eichelberger

May 17, 2019
Mississippi College School of Law
Jackson, Mississippi